Red Clay's leadership includes a Session of Ruling Elders and a Board of Deacons.  Please visit our staff directory to view Red Clay's staff.

The Session (Ruling Elders)

Red Clay’s elders serve three-year terms, giving leadership to the life of the church and participating in Session. Elders' lives reflect a personal relationship with Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior, Christian maturity, a walk and conversation that is an example beyond reproach, the gift of commission to govern, an active prayer life, and service to Red Clay’s committees and ministries.




Committees of Session

Clerk of Session: Sandra Sarjeant

Class of 2018
Suzanne Courter-Jann
Mike Hawley
Edna Hein
Kove Hudson
Curt Tompkins
Beth Whipple

Class of 2019
Ken Comegys
John Gast
Pat Gioffre
Anne Hawley
Marcia Kelly
John McNamara
Stu Ross

Class of 2020
Nancy James
Sandy Sarjeant
Dave Aument

The Board of Deacons

I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me. -- Matthew 25:40

A Deacon is someone who loves the Lord and acts upon that love with gifts of service through a variety of ministries, including calling on new members to extend the hand of friendship and welcome them into the Red Clay family, visiting elderly members, serving Communion to home-bound members, delivering flowers to those who are ill or shut-in, bringing meals to families in need of encouragement, and planning events to encourage fellowship among members.

Moderator: Sue Gleason


Deacon Ministries

  • Celebration & Care Notes
  • Flower Delivery
  • Homebound Visitation
  • Meals & Medical
  • Memorial & Funeral Receptions
  • Special Events
  • Sunday Morning Coffee
  • Weddings

Class of 2018
Leslie Gast
Linda Sopkanich
Gail Ahrens
Carolyn Falasa
Jane Moore
Andy Lo
Susan Kissell
Cathy Byrnes

Class of 2019
Bob Borcherdt
Pat Clark
Karen Edwards
Judy Hahn
Mary Jane Lanan
Chris Long
Sally Rada
Jayne Townsend

Class of 2020
Sue Gleason
Sue Anderson
Sue Welsh
Jean Derickson
Valerie Kratunis
LaRetha Osborn
Lee Ann Comegys
Elaine Ramsey



Current Elders: click here to view the sign-up genius and volunteer for the Welcome Cart.